Beach Bum

The last couple of days have been so exciting! Sunday morning my mom, sister, and I left early for the beach! Since then we’ve been soaking up the sun and having a great time!

BEACH BUM

Unfortunately, I got burnt our first day here and then yesterday I got burnt even worse so I am a color close to that of a lobster. Despite the pain & unfortunate coloring I forged my way through today on the beach. I have yet to determine if I got even more burnt but I’m thinking so far that I made it through the day without adding another red patch to my skin.

Besides sitting on the beach attempting to tan ourselves, we’ve been up to some other things. Every morning we go to breakfast at this cute little parlor called Duffers. The food is great, the service is wonderful, and the aesthetic is to die for! We’ve eaten at Duffers every morning of every beach trip that I can remember since from my childhood. It’s a bit of a walk from our motel room but it’s nice to get a little exercise before stuffing your face with breakfast foods (although I admit the walk back is torturous). Plus walking as much as we do gives me the chance to catch some Pokemon and hatch some eggs on Pokemon Go.

Last night we ate a 50’s themed diner on the boardwalk called the Doo Wop Diner which is super cute and the food is pretty great too! After dinner we walked along the boardwalk. Even though it’s full of people, I really enjoy the boardwalk in a way that may not make sense. The lighting, the sense of what summer is really about, the smell of fried foods and pizza, the sound of laughter and the screams from rides on the pier… It all has a sense of comfort to me. It is the summer aesthetic straight out of the movies.

We got a funnel cake from a stand on the boardwalk which I had been looking forward to since the beginning of summer. My sister and I rounded out last night by watching Parks & Recreation which is one of my favorite shows right now. Needless to say it was a nice night.

Today when we were on the beach I thought it would be best not to get too much sun for fear of more painful burns so I ended up covering myself with a large towel while scrolling through my phone. I was watching makeup tutorials on Instagram when I saw an ad that caught my eye. The ad was for ipsy which is a monthly subscription for 5 new beauty products personalized for you that only costs $10/month. I ended up signing up while listening to the waves crash around me. I’m so excited to receive the August bag, I absolutely love makeup and I love to try new products. Whats even better is that it’s personalized to my taste in makeup, the products I like, and the brands I like. As soon as I receive the August bag I’ll be posting pictures of the goodies I get!

My family and I are really enjoying the beach, this vacation was definitely needed.  I’m especially happy that we have two more days! I’m ready for tonight’s dinner, a walk on the boardwalk, and my sister and I’s annual ride on the Ferris wheel overlooking the beach & the entire beach town.

I have some new things coming your way once I get home. I’ll be posting about my beach trip in more detail with pictures. Aside from that, I am trying to clean up the blog a little bit as well as tailor some new posts before I go back to school (only 25 days away).

Please comment any content you’d like to see more of/see for the first time here. I’m open to all suggestions.

Have a wonderful evening!

One thought on “Beach Bum”

Leave a comment